Follow us

And stay informed in real time of the latest News!

39,384 followers   •   950 following   •   Edwardsville, IL   •   http://starstryder.com

Communicating astronomy and life in academia 1 sidereal day at a time.

Latest Scoops

Today's episode of #DailySpace is brought to you by the letters C & M. C and M are for:
- China’s Chang’e Craters
- Chandra Missing Mass Challenge
- Cuba Meteor cousin to Chelyabinsk Meteor

Catch these stories at 1pm E / 10 P / 6pm GMT at https://t.co/8SMjENzWo6
In honour of this day of Pink Pokemon and too many “Roses are Red” rhymes on Twitter, I’m going to red dark and sad poetry on Twitch: Poe, MacBeth, Frost, and more.

Starts 10:30pm E / 7:30pm P
https://t.co/1vwOhDOXmD
I love international collaborations.

But sometimes I look at Telecon times and hate planetary rotation.
I just declared email bankruptcy on all messages prior to Dec 31, 2018. 2800+ messages just got put into a folder named zzzbankruptcy where I intend to ignore them forever. Sometimes you just have to give up.
The Mars Twitter community is totally going to make this astronomer cry today.
Today’s #DailySpace will start 15 minutes late at 1:15pm EST / 10:15am PST / 6:15pm GMT.

Join us on https://t.co/8SMjENzWo6 for updates on
- how Ceres and Mars may keep things liquid, and
- how a Martian (robotic) mole will measure temperatures.
Quick @cosmoquest finance update. We have almost found the funds needed to keep going - barebones, reduced staff - for 6 months. The one gap is @365DaysOfAstro

Please buy a day to sponsor, and together we can fund this corner of science communications. https://t.co/rw9BL9iBAo
I just had an email conversation that I estimate was 90% Gmail predictive response.

How long will it be before work related email is just bots talking amongst themselves?
The #DailySpace brings you the universe at 10am PST / 1pm EST / 6pm GMT on https://t.co/8SMjENzWo6. Today's stories include:
- Braking MAVEN (aerobraking)
- Star flares gone wild
- Dry first, then terraform
- BONUS FEATURE: UNESCO protects astronomy for the future.

The Most Relevant

Can we just celebrate this for a minute?

Girls present science to the President & everyone wears a tiara because
Things I now know:
Humans have ~7*10^27 atoms
Atoms are ~10^-10m in length

If I mathed right, a person can be spaghettified to 75ly long
Please donate.

I don't want to fire my staff because of the insanity that is life as a federally funded, soft-money researcher. Not at Christmas.

All we want to do is keep helping you explore the universe with us.

https://t.co/eEYg7Rr2ZU

#STEM #Science #DonateNow
Gen X: we’re just tired & disappointed in your bullshit.

We’re the generation that started as latchkey kids, came of age during the AIDs crisis, entered the workforce in a recession, got crushed by dotcom crash & housing bust, & expect no pension.

https://t.co/exwA22NX0x
I really want to do a #planet9 happy dance, but in a @NASA meeting and should probably be somewhat professional. But
GIF
Video player
No questions asked way to handle harassment. I’ll be implementing this for when we do public events. https://t.co/WlBiiLD4zA
Shaka, when the walls fell.

via @trekker2560
Due to #HurricaneMatthew, @NASAKennedy is under mandatory evac. Good luck & Godspeed to everyone on the Space Coast.
Do not go quietly into the night. Rise up with fire and a roar.

image: CIBER Rocket launch by T. Array / U Tokyo
Total(1) => 0.22158885002136 f_f_QM(2) => 0.21175575256348 indS(2) => 0.021910905838013 indM(2) => 0.18809700012207 indM_1(2) => 0.027549028396606 indM_2(2) => 0.012440204620361 indM_4(2) => 0.027253150939941 indM_5(2) => 0.027256727218628 indM_6(2) => 0.013946294784546 indM_7(2) => 0.025171995162964 indM_8(2) => 0.014478921890259 indM_9(2) => 0.021491050720215 indM_10(2) => 0.018124103546143 f_f_pTL(2) => 0.0032031536102295 f_f_dT(20) => 0.0029892921447754